Two Reasons Why I Went To…

This summer I went to hot, humid, tropical Indonesia. Now it doesn’t sound that bad. The reason that I love staying there are the people and how everyone is so much closer with one another. My sister, Mom and I went to Indonesia ( Belitung and Jakarta) for two reasons. Number one reason is family. We have about 40 to 55 relatives in Indonesia and each time i visit( last time was 3 years ago) there is always somebody new to the family. The second reason is Lebaran. Lebaran is a 1 month holiday .  At the 6 am in the morning at beginning of the month we eat before fasting, it’s called saour. The mornings and afternoons are slow because everyone is so hungry. At night it’s the best because at 6pm we invite all our relative ( the ones we’re close with) and have a gigantic feast celebrating another day of fasting. We do it every night and everyday. Than when it’s a few days before the actual Lebaran, we all visit our neighbors, family and friends. We knock on they’re door and say “I’m sorry for everything i have ever done to harm you” and they give you Indonesian cookies, sweets and money. Back to the night. Many of my second cousins come and play with me… i little too ruff. They are in the range of 1 to 6 so they are to young to understand. My sister would be on my one leg and Andean ( my 3 year old girl 2nd cousin) would be on the other. The four boys would tug on my arm like tug a war to see who can get me to the kitchen or living room. So everyday was a riot, i loved it and loved seeing them again.

Where it is- Indonesia is a country in southern Asia and Oceania 13,466 islands and 33 provinces with over 238 million people. It is the world’s fourth most populous country, and has the world’s largest population of Muslims. The country shares land borders with Papua New Guinea, East Timor, and Malaysia. Other neighboring countries include Singapore, Philippines, Australia, and the Indian territory of the Andaman and Nicobar Islands. Indonesia’s location on the edges of the Pacific, Eurasian, and Australian tectonic plates makes it the site of numerous volcanoes and frequent earthquakes. Indonesia has at least 150 active volcanoes.  ( info from Wikipedia)

Indonesia is the one that says Indonesia on the right hand side my apologies that it is not clear

i went to jakarta and belitung but belitung is small so there is a chance you can't find it

3 comments on “Two Reasons Why I Went To…

  1. jocelynwall says:

    Wow Suni! Lebaram sounds really cool! And I’m glad you got to see your family in Indo, I know how much you miss them 🙂

  2. suni32 says:

    yea i miss them so much! At the first night coming back from Indonesia i was afraid to sleep because i didn’t want to dream about them because it would make me sad :P. What did you do this summer Jocelyn?

    • jocelynwall says:

      My family and I went to Saskatchewan this summer for almost two weeks. We started in North Battleford for a few days with my grandma, then we stayed at the Bessborough hotel (it’s also called the Castle on the River) in Saskatoon for four nights for the wedding of my mom’s cousin. Then we took the train all the way to Winnipeg (it was supposed to be an 11-hour trip, but we were late by almost an hour) to visit some close family friends for two nights before taking the train back to Saskatoon and spent one night at the Bessborough because our train was four hours late getting into the station. The next day, we went back to my grandma’s house in North Battleford, and on the 23 of August, we were home again! It sounds really exciting, but in Saskatchewan, you can only see crops for miles and miles, and the only thing guys talk about is when they’re going to start combining their crops and the best places to get seed!
      Going to Indonesia would be way more exciting, especially Lebaram!

Leave a Reply

